Crafting Up Your Neighborhood: Home Edition

If you have followed me on my social media channels, then you know that one of my favorite things to do is to craft up the neighborhood. Over the past year and a half, most of us have been under lockdown orders at one point or another which has made this concept a little difficult. It’s been more of a “crafting up my neighborhood” time.

And even if you can’t or don’t want to leave your house, you can still make the most of this challenge. Whether you live in a house or an apartment, like I do, I promise you have the chance to craft up whatever neighborhood you find yourself in.

When I’m at home, I look to the sky for inspiration. I’m a sucker for clouds and Bob Ross style skies.

If you’re in an apartment complex, you can always take advantage of the public areas so you can still feel like you’re in the spirit of the challenge. Going to the pool, playground, or clubhouse can add that feeling of going out and showing your craft to the world. (And who knows? You might even get some of your neighbors interested in cross-stitching!)

If you have a house, then you might want to stitch on your front porch or driveway! Taking a picture or two might be difficult because of security concerns, but maybe you can snap a photo next to your favorite plant or tree. Either way, if you end up taking as many pictures as I do to get the perfect shot, you’ll be the talk of the neighborhood in no time, LOL

I think the spirit of the challenge is to bring as many people along as possible so that we get to be a group of crafters who show our neighbors that crafting is good for the soul. So, if, for now, that means you look out your window and stitch, giving everyone a glimpse of what it means to craft up your neighborhood in this time we find ourselves in, then go for it!

If you decide to start #craftingupyourneighborhood, let me know by using that nifty hashtag! Also, if you missed the intro post, you can find it, here.

Happy Crafting! 

~ If you’d like to support my ability to provide posts like the ones above, please consider donating to my Ko-Fi page

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑